Carleton College's student newspaper since 1877

The Carletonian

The Carletonian

The Carletonian

Carleton skiers compete in 24 hour race and host Crazy Relay

< of January 10-11, sixteen cross-country skiers from Carleton competed in the 24 Hours of Telemark (24T), one of the nation's only 24-hour cross-country ski races. Held at Telemark Resort in Cable, WI, 24T is a 24-hour race for soloists and relay teams of 2-6 skiers. Beginning at 10 AM Saturday and ending at 10 AM Sunday, Carleton skiers skied a total of 1000 km on the hilly 5 km race course.

Team “Git Off My Lake Again” (Anneli Doering ’10, Camille Hommeyer ’12, Julia Schwarz ’10, Sam Thompson ’11, Sara Patton ’10, and Rose Hyson ’11) won 1st place in the “24 Hour Six Chix” category, with 245 km skied. Team “Thing 1” (Mikaela Robertson ’09, Amanda Hund ’10, Emma Sando ’09, and Dia Davis ’12) won 3rd place in the “24 Hour Women 4” category, with 240 km skied. 1st Place in the “24 Hour Coed 4” category was won by team “Thing 2” (Johanna Fierke ’12, Francesca Chubb-Confer ’12, Nina Whitney ’12, and Mark Hagemann ’10), with 220 km skied. Hannah Specht ’09 and Peter Wilton ’10 won the “24 Hour Duo Open” category with 300 km skied.

This past Saturday more than 30 Carleton skiers competed in the 2009 edition of the Crazy Carleton Classic Relays. A great variety of costumes, including wetsuits, super-heroes, garden gnomes, and bathrobes, could be seen zooming by as teams of three tagged off to one another after completing their leg of the 3.4 km course. Course conditions were great thanks to the generosity of the St. Olaf groundskeeping staff, who coordinated with Carleton groundskeeping to groom the course in a pinch. This year’s winners, Kate Meyer ’09, David Smith ’09, and Hannah Specht ’09, won the race in 49:08. The award for best costume went to the very convincing garden gnomes Sarah Hund, Amanda Hund ’10, and Julia Bradley ’10.

Leave a Comment
More to Discover

Comments (0)

All The Carletonian Picks Reader Picks Sort: Newest

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *